Who doesn’t like a quickie?

It seems that society is always in a hurry these days.

Speak fast. Work fast. Eat fast. Think fast. Drive fast or get out of my way (am I the only person who feels like this when navigating LA traffic?).

So, in honor of life in the fast lane, and my quickly diminishing laptop battery… I’ll make this post a quickie… even though I haven’t updated in almost two weeks (boo on me!).

Every day something remarkable happens. Every day I feel excited, upset, successful or foolish. Sometimes all of them together. It’s confusing. Living life from one day to the next seems to be the key to survival.

The biggest bit of news I have is not good. I found out last week my Aunt has been diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer that has also moved into her spine. The news was particularly heartbreaking for me. Aunt Sissy has held a special place in my heart ever since I met her when I was seven years old. She’s funny, she laughs all the time, and she loves her family more than anything.

The thing is, she lives so far away I’ve not had many opportunities to visit with her throughout my life. Last summer I stopped in for a few days on my cross country drive to New Orleans. It had been almost twenty years. We had a lovely few days together, and try as I might… I didn’t squeeze too many embarrassing secrets about my father from her. She has been going back to school for a career change, and this last year has been a time for us to share many emails and conversations about schoolwork, teachers, and student life in general. Sissy has become more than an aunt who lives far far away… she’s become a very good friend, who I love dearly.

Right now I am trying to figure out how I can afford to fly out and visit her, but in the meantime… it’s down to letters and some phone calls when tomorrow begins and the 15 hour workday ends.

In other news, and nothing can compare…

I kicked ass in my fantasy football league this week. Not only was this great, but it was fantastic because I was playing my boyfriend who claims to have taught me everything I know about fantasy football. Okay, I suppose he did.

What else… there’s lots. Work has been filled with craziness that is entertaining, frustrating and exciting all at the same time. My experiences with social marketing have been fun, especially as the @sharktopus2010 twitter account is becoming more popular.

And, although I have many more stories to tell… my battery is almost dead and so I will call it a night.

#CHOMP! #CHOMP! #CHOMP!

4 responses to this post.

  1. “my boyfriend who claims to have taught me everything I know about fantasy football”

    Okay…you have and wear his jersey…without looking it up on Google…what team does Ocho Cinco play for? What is their team mascot? :-p

    Nice win last weekend…for anyone else who wants to read of Sarah’s new-found awesomeness at Fantasy Football, you can read more about it at http://bit.ly/dh72Ir.

    (oh, and Sarah also owns a Peyton Manning jersey too)

    Reply

  2. Posted by sosnowy on September 18, 2010 at 1:22 am

    Oh, that was easy… Cincinnati Bengals. Who else would have orange and black striped helmets? But, I’ll be honest, I had to look up the name of their mascot. And this is a rather funny tidbit that I’d guess even you don’t know. The Cincinnati Bengals’ mascot is named “Who Dey”. I think it’s rather humorous as, even though the New Orleans Saints mascot is “Gumbo the Dog” everyone chants “Who Dat” after the Saints win a game (it was especially popular after they won the superbowl last season).

    Who Dey? Who Dat? … Who Dis?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Thomas LoCurto on September 22, 2010 at 12:25 am

    Sarah, did I leave you a comment on this page, or am I having another lapse of reality? I could have sworn I did.

    Reply

  4. Posted by sosnowy on September 22, 2010 at 11:21 am

    I don’t know. I got a notification of a comment last week, but then when I went to view it there were no comments. I think there might have been a glitch in the system.

    Reply

Leave a comment